Return to Homepage
... Dedicated to the TV Addict in All of Us

   The place to be....for the Characters, Places & Things on Television

What's New at TV Acres  
  Home > Index > Awards > Gardening > Silver Trowel Award  
Gardening Awards

Bob Thomson - Victory Garden HostSilver Trowel Award - Annual award bestowed to the winner of a gardening competition sponsored by the THE VICTORY GARDEN, a how-to-program produced by the Public Broadcasting Service. The award is a silver-plated garden trowel pushed into the base of the award. Bob Thomson was the first to present the award. He hosted the long-running PBS how-to television series "The Victory Garden" from 1979 to 1991. Robert B. "Bob" Thomson died October 2, 2003 in Danvers, Massachusetts from the effects of Alzheimer's disease at age 74.

The series debuted on April 16, 1975 with the title CROCKETT'S VICTORY GARDEN after the host and producer James Underwood Crockett. When he died on July 11, 1979, Bob Thompson took over the reigns of the show, now titled THE VICTORY GARDEN. After Bob Thomson left the show in 1991, gardening expert Roger Swain hosted the program from 1991-2001. In 2002, the show changed its format away from "get dirt under your finger nails" gardening to practical garden design. Their current host is Michael Weishan.

External Links



Back to Top

Home | Site Map | Search | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Archive
Copyright © TV Acres. 2000-2016 All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All photos are the property of their respective companies.