Return to Homepage
... Dedicated to the TV Addict in All of Us

   The place to be....for the Characters, Places & Things on Television

What's New at TV Acres  
  Home > Index > Awards > Film & TV > CableACE Awards  
Film & TV Industry Awards

ACE AwardACE Awards - The National Cable Television Association - based in Washington, DC - established the  CableACE awards in 1979 for recognition of outstanding achievements in original programming for cable television on both the national and local levels. ACE stands for Awards for Cable(casting) Excellence.

Their 9" bronze and chrome spade-shaped statuette reflects their statement "When you're the best at what you do on cable TV, they call you an ACE."

The first ACE awards were given to performers Gladys Knight and the Pips and the seasonal holiday special "Emmet Otter's Jug Band Christmas."

Other recipients of CableAce awards included Lily Tomlin, Stephen Colbert (five in 1995), Paula Poundstone, Susan Sarandon, George Carlin, Barbara Streisand, Richard Jeni, Bill Maher, Chris Rock, Danny Glover, Roseanne Barr, John Leguizamo, and Denis Leary.

Prior to 1988, the Emmy Awards did not recognize the Cable Industry, thus the formation of the ACE (later CableACE awards). However, when the Emmys had adequately honored cable productions on their annual production the CableACE award discontinued their award program in 1997 (the 19th broadcast).

Denis Leary won the CableAce Best Director Award in 1996 for his Showtime film, "Thy Neighbor's Wife." According to a Comedy Central profile, he believed there was a direct link between his winning the award and the abolishment of the award exactly three months later.

External Links


Back to Top

Home | Site Map | Search | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Archive
Copyright © TV Acres. 2000-2016 All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All photos are the property of their respective companies.