Return to Homepage
... Dedicated to the TV Addict in All of Us

   The place to be....for the Characters, Places & Things on Television

What's New at TV Acres  
  Home > Index > Medicine > Hospitals >Cook County Emergency Room  

Cook County Emergency Room -  The emergency room of this Chicago, Illinois medical facility was the focus of the medical drama ER/NBC/1994+. The series was created by famed novelist Michael Crichton, whose experiences as a medical student in a hospital emergency room inspired the show.

Cook County General Hospital Staff - ER
Cook County General Hospital ER Employees

Over the years, the on-duty physicians have included:

  • Anthony Edwards as chief resident Dr. Mark Greene (died of brain cancer)
  • George Clooney as pediatric attending physician Dr. Douglas Ross (who later moved to the Pacific Northwest)
  • Sherry Stringfield as Dr. Susan Lewis (who later moved to Phoenix)
  • Eriq LaSalle as resident surgeon Dr. Peter Benton
  • Noah Wyle as resident Dr. John Truman Carter III
  • William H. Macy as Dr. David Morgenstern, Chief of Emergency Services (who later resigns)
  • Michael Ironside as Dr. William "Wild Willie" Swift
  • Glenne Headly as pediatric surgeon Dr. Abby Keaton (spent time in Pakistan)
  • Rick Rossovich as Dr. John Taglieri
  • Ming-Na Wen as Dr. Jing- Mei "Deb" Deb Chen
  • Maura Tierney as Dr. Abby Lockhart (former nurse)
  • Christine Elise as third-year medical student Harper Tracy
  • CCH (Carol Christine Hilaria) Pounder as Dr. Angela Hicks
  • Laura Innes as attending physician Kerry Weaver (who replaced Dr. Greene when he got promoted)
  • David Brisbin as Pedes anesthesiologist Dr. Alexander Babcock
  • Maria Bello as pediatrician & ER resident Dr. Anna Del Amico (who later resigns)
  • Alex Kingston as British surgical intern Dr. Elizabeth Corday
  • Kellie Martin as third-year medical student Lucy Knight (murdered by a schizophrenic patient on a rampage)
  • Anna Del Amico as Dr. Maria Bello (left to work in Pediatrics in Philadelphia with her boyfriend)
  • Gloria Reuben as (PA) Physician Assistant Jeanie Boulet (who contracts AIDS)
  • Jorja[n] Fox as resident Dr. Maggie Doyle
  • John Aylward as Hospital Chief of Staff Dr. Donald Anspaugh
  • David Spielberg as Head of Pediatrics Dr. Neal Bernstein
  • Amy Aquino OB/GYN attending Dr. Janet Coburn
  • Robert Minchenberg as Surgeon Dr. Simon
  • Melissa Chan as surgical resident Dr. Leung Joo Hua
  • Fran Bennett as Mary Cain, Head of hospital re-engineering committee
  • Paul McCrane as Dr. Robert Romano (killed by helicopter)
  • Clancy Brown as Dr. Ellis West
  • Michael Ironside as Dr. William Swift
  • Jami Gertz as Psychiatic consultant
  • Dr. Nina Pomerantz; Omar Epps as surgical intern Dr. Dennis Gant (later killed by train)
  • John Terry as Psychiatrist Dr. Div Cvetic
  • Tyra Ferrell as surgical resident Dr. Sara Langworthy.
  • Scott Grimes as Dr. Archie Morris
  • Mekhi Phifer as Dr. Gregory Pratt
  • Gorin Visnjic as Dr. Luka Kovac
  • Shane West as Medical Intern Ray Barnett
  • John Stamos as Paramedic/Medical Student Dr. Tony Gates
  • Parminder Nagra as Medical Student Neela Rasgotra
  • Stanley Tucci as Dr. Kevin Moretti
  • Kristen Johnston as Dr. Eve Peyton

Cast of ER - Entrance of Cook County General Hospital Emergency Room

Other support staff on hand were:

  • Julianna Margulies as Head Nurse Carol Hathaway (who also runs a free-clinic - later moved to the Pacific Northwest)
  • Maura Tierney as Nurse Abby Lockhart (turned doctor)
  • Ellen Crawford as Nurse Lydia Wright
  • Connie Marie Brazelton as Nurse Connie Oligario
  • Yvette Freeman as Nurse Haleh Adams
  • Vanessa Marquez as Nurse Wendy Goldman
  • Laura Cerón as Nurse Chuny Marquez
  • Lily Mariye as Nurse Lily Jarvik
  • Deezer D (Dearon Thompson) as Nurse Malik McGrath
  • Gedde Watanabe as Nurse Yosh Takata
  • Penny Johnson as Free Clinic Nurse Practitioner Lynette Evans
  • Bellina Logan as Surgical Nurse Kit
  • Dinah Lenney as Surgical Nurse Shirley
  • Paul Collins as Hospital labor rep Drummond
  • Lucy Rodriguez as Surgery Floor Nurse Bjerke
  • Linda Cardellini as Nurse Samantha Taggert
  • Montae Russell as  Dwight Zadro, EMS
  • Lynn A. Henderson as Pam Olbes, EMT
  • Emily Wagner as Paramedic Doris Pickman
  • Kristin Minter as Administrations Desk Clerk Randi Fronczak
  • Mariska Hargitay as Administrations Desk Clerk Cynthia Hooper
  • Abraham Benrubi as Jerry Markovic, Emergency Services Coordinator, aka Administrations Desk Clerk.

Cast of ER - 13th Season
Cast of ER - 2007 Season

The hospital exterior used on the show to portray the ER facility is actually the University of Illinois Hospital (part of the University of Illinois Medical School) located at 1720 W. Taylor Street about a half-mile from the real Cook County Hospital. A similarly named facility the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) Hospital is eight blocks to the east.

TRIVIA NOTE: An earlier produced 90-minute medical drama CHICAGO STORY/CBS/1982 starred Maud Adams as Dr. Judith Bergstrom and Kristoffer Tabori as Dr. Max Carson as two physicians who also worked at the Windy City's Cook County Hospital Trauma Unit.

External Links


Back to Top



Home | Site Map | Search | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Archive
Copyright © TV Acres. 2000-2016 All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All photos are the property of their respective companies.