Return to Homepage
... Dedicated to the TV Addict in All of Us

   The place to be....for the Characters, Places & Things on Television

What's New at TV Acres  
  Home > Index > Awards > Journalism > Peabody Awards  
Journalism & On-Air News Awards

Peabody AwardPeabody Awards - The George Foster Peabody Awards are presented by the Henry W. Grady School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Georgia for the "most distinguished and meritorious public service rendered each year by radio and television" They were established during 1940 in memory of Georgian banker and philanthropist, G. F. Peabody (1852-1938) to honor outstanding broadcasting achievements by networks, programs, stations, and individuals. The first award for TV writing went to Rod Serling's "Requiem for a Heavyweight" telecast on the CBS network and starring Ed Wynn, Jack Palance, and Keenan Wynn.

In 2006,  Comedy Central's cartoon series SOUTH PARK won its first Peabody Award. The program was praised as a show that "pushes all the buttons, turns up the heat, and shatters every taboo." Peabody Awards Director Horace Newcomb said, "Through that process of offending it reminds us of the need for being tolerant."

External Links




Back to Top

Home | Site Map | Search | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Archive
Copyright © TV Acres. 2000-2016 All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All photos are the property of their respective companies.