Return to Homepage
... Dedicated to the TV Addict in All of Us

   The place to be....for the Characters, Places & Things on Television

What's New at TV Acres  
  Home > Index > Awards > Music > Soul Train Music Awards  
Music Industry Awards

Soul Train AwardsSoul Train Music Awards - Annual awards ceremony that pays homage to the best in black musical producers, songwriters and recording artists in the areas of Jazz, R & B, Soul, Rap and Gospel. It was first telecast March 23, 1987 and hosted by Luther Vandross and Dionne Warwick. The awards ceremony was inspired by the weekly black musical TV program SOUL TRAIN, hosted by legendary music veteran, Don Cornelius.

Special awards include The Michael Jackson Award for Best R&B/Soul or Rap Music Video; the Heritage Award for Career Achievement; the Quincy Jones Career Achievement Award; and the Sammy Davis, Jr. Entertainer of the Year Award. Singers Janet Jackson, Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston hold the record for the most Soul Train Award nominations/wins.

The 2006 Soul Train TV Special was co-hosted by actress Vivica A. Fox and music/film star Tyrese Gibson. The event showcased the First (1st) Annual Stevie Wonder award for Outstanding Career Achievements in Song Writing (presented by Stevie Wonder, himself.). The ceremony was videotaped at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

Don Cornelius, a Chicago native and host of SOUL TRAIN, earned a  Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame; has been inducted into the Broadcasting and Cable Hall of Fame and  was the recipient of the Pop Culture Award at the 2005 TV Land (network) Awards cablecast.

External Links


Back to Top

Home | Site Map | Search | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Archive
Copyright © TV Acres. 2000-2016 All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All photos are the property of their respective companies.